Pete the Cat : I Love My White Shoes

by Eric Litwin & James Dean, c2008.

WHY

After six months away from reading picture books on a regular basis (and writing about them) I was unexpectedly asked to do a Story Time for a preschool visit.

I was more than a little nervous.  I mean, I read picture books all the time.  But not out loud to a room full of thirty kids and their parents/guardians/random grown ups they found on the street.

Oh yeah and I curse like a sailor.  Like all the time.  It’s a well known character trait (flaw?) of mine.

Thankfully a very talented children’s librarian in Ohio helped me out with a list of fool proof titles for preschool story times.  No not THAT Ohio Children’s librarian.  The other one.  The original.

 

WHAT

Pete the Cat is very popular.  Kids love this guy.  I hate bandwagon jumpers, but I am all in on Pete the Cat.

He is cool.

Like the original 60’s connotation of the word cool.

Like James Dean cool.

In this installment Pete has a new pair of white shoes.  And he loves them.  So much so that he sings a little tune about them.

I have no idea how you’re supposed to sing the song in this book, but I had the kids sing it to the tune of “We gotta Dollar, We gotta Dollar, We gotta Dollar, Hey hey hey Hey” from Little Rascals.

(No where does it say “hey hey hey hey” but the book is kind of small and the kids were sitting kind of far away so no one called me out on it.)

Pete steps in various things along the way and his shoes change color, but Pete doesn’t mind he just keeps walking along singing his song changing the color with each verse.

WHO

Paolo Nutini.  Pete’s song is way better than his.

 

Show of hands… who else thought Jason Mraz sang “New Shoes”?

Keep your hand up if you also thought Alanis Morissette sang “I’m a Bitch”?

Alright I feel better, put your hands down.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

